#AuthorToolboxBlogHop: Tips for Writing a Query Letter

Hello, everyone!

For this month’s Author Toolbox Blog Hop, I thought I would post a few tips for writing a good query letter. I’ll also comment on patterns I’ve noticed in query letters in submissions recently.

  1. Do your research: I’m sure this one seems obvious. Before I started interning, when I’d read articles and agent tips (I still do this), a lot of them mentioned this very thing: do you research and follow submission guidelines. I would always think to myself “well, isn’t this obvious? I doubt I’ll stand out just by following submission guidelines.” I was wrong. Whenever I get a well-crafted query letter by an author who followed our guidelines, I’m so excited to start reading their submission. They’re already a step ahead. But when the person who submits doesn’t follow guidelines and their query letter hits every red flag, although I’ll still read it, I won’t be as enthusiastic. And trust me – you want us to be enthusiastic when we start reading 😉 So for example, if the query letter is just a list of themes, I know the author hasn’t done their research, and the MS will probably reflect that.
    • This applies for Pitch Wars, too! Make sure the mentor you’re submitting to works with your category/genre.
  2. Don’t start with backstory: A lot of queries I’ve seen begin with backstory on the main character, and then the second paragraph is when things really get interesting. You want to hook the agent as soon as possible. So if the second paragraph is where the story really starts – cut the first paragraph and start with the second!
  3. Be specific: Another common issue I’ve noticed is when details in the query are too vague. So a lot of times when I’m critiquing a query,  it will involve asking questions to help narrow things down and make them as specific as possible. For example, “X faces a problem/has to overcome obstacles…” “X will lose it all if…” those are too vague. What obstacles does X have to face? What exactly will X lose if they don’t accomplish their goal? Be as specific as you can.
  4. High stakes: This is probably the most common issue I’ve noted so far. You need to mention what’s at stake for your MC in the query letter but you also have to make sure the stakes are high and specific (as mentioned above).
  5. You want to be answering these questions: Who is the MC? What do they want? What stands in their way? What happens if they don’t get it? BBC sherlock bbc benedict cumberbatch sherlock holmes GIF
  6. Don’t forget you’re selling your novel. I’ve seen queries where the author writes about themselves and the inspiration for their novel more than the novel itself.  Yes, you should write a brief bio at the end with relevant credentials, but the focus of the query should still be on the story.
  7. My final tip comes back to research again. There are so many articles on writing query letters, and a lot of people share their successful ones. Read them – you’ll thank yourself later.

 

Of course there are exceptions to every rule 🙂

Lastly, a few people asked about the critique giveaway I did in June, so I decided to do another one. I’ll be picking winners on Monday, just because I want them to have the chance to revise for Pitch Wars 🙂 You can find details here.

18 thoughts on “#AuthorToolboxBlogHop: Tips for Writing a Query Letter

Add yours

    1. Thank you! I just checked out your post, and it was great! I left a comment, but for some reason whenever I try leaving a comment on your page it redirects me elsewhere with an error. Hopefully, the comments show up anyway!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I find writing the query harder than writing the novel! Everywhere I turn I get different advice. I attended a query letter webinar by Writer’s Digest. My query letter got singled out as an example of what to do. I was so proud. Right after that I went to a writer’s conference where my query letter was torn apart. UGH! So, there you go. What’s right for one isn’t right for everyone.

    Nonetheless, the general advice you give is worthwhile. Pay attention to the submission guidelines and to the place where you are sending your query. Also, everyone says do not say too much about your credentials.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This is a great reminder of how to catch agent/publisher attention. Especially, a good trick to switching the paragraphs around to put forward the most salient points on the MC and conflict first.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I notice a lot of vagueness in query letters when I’m critiquing for CPs (as well as other things you mentioned above), but vagueness is in my opinion, the biggest problem. Wasted words in a space where you’re allotted so few. Great post, Hoda!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for sharing this important information!! Query letters are my kryptonite but I am working on bettering them. I will definitely take this advice into consideration when writing my next!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I review books, and have similar requirements to you – I want people to submit books in the genre I review, and I want them to provide me with a link to the Amazon book page (so I can judge #2, #3, #4 and #5 for myself). So many people fail on these two simple requests and I’m left wondering if they can actually read.

    It must be even worse for agents.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for sharing these tips, Hoda! I’m entering pitch wars and definitely need to polish my query, love the suggestion to cut the first paragraph and jump straight into the interesting bit!

    Like

  7. I’ve read conflicting advice on where to position the pitch. I’ve always placed it above the salutation, but lately I’ve read an agent’s advice that the salutation should open the query, followed by a brief statement of why I chose that particular agent to query, my credentials, and publication history. That’s followed by the pitch, the description, and brief bio.
    I follow the agent’s preferences to the letter, but most don’t address that detail in the query.

    Like

    1. Agent preferences will vary. There can be a short pitch before going to the query, and some like to know why you chose to query them, others have said they take it for granted that you’ve done your research. But typically author bio is at the end.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

